Musical Electronics Library

Auckland, New Zealand

MEL prehistory 1

Leave a comment

I am Pat Kraus. I’ve been doing electronics for about 8 or 9 years. I taught myself how to solder in about 2005, and since then i’ve built a bunch of guitar pedals, battery-powered synth boxes, and, most recently, a Serge modular synthesizer. The idea for the Musical Electronics Library came to me in March 2013 when I was reading Nicolas Collins’ excellent book “Handmade Electronic Music”. There are a lot of cool ideas in that book, and I wanted to try them out, but I was faced with a problem that had bothered me for a long time: deciding what to build. There are so many nice electronics projects I’d like to make — there are a million on the internet — but of course I’ve only got limited time and money. And it’s common to encounter something that’s electronically or sonically very interesting, but which I wouldn’t actually use that much myself. So I never get around to making it.

One solution is to build stuff for sale. Then you get to make things you might not use yourself, but that someone else will. I have done this in the past, but I found it stressful, and I’m not very motivated to make money, so I never really got into it that much. Besides, there’s not a lot of demand for more esoteric, unusual gear. When I was reading Nic Collins’ book I realised that a better solution for me would be to make a lot of stuff and then lend it out, like a library. That way I could build whatever took my fancy, and someone would be bound to find a use for it. This seemed like a good way to combine my interest in electronics and music with a desire to serve my community.

comment?

