Musical Electronics Library

Auckland, New Zealand

MEL prehistory 2

Leave a comment

So after having the idea for the library I had to think about how to go about it. Initially my rough plan was to build things myself, using my own money, and store the collection at my house. I spent April and May 2013 building the first dozen circuits for the collection. These were mostly housed in VHS tape boxes, because of these reasons that I wrote about here.

Having a limited budget and wanting to build things as quickly as possible I focused on relatively cheap, simple circuits. The average cost of parts for each box was about $20. I built mainly sound-processing rather than sound-generating stuff, because it’s easier. I built a phaser, a ring modulator, a pitch shifter, some distortions, an oscillator, two noise makers, and a matrix mixer. I did most of the work on a chaotic drum machine, then I got burned out and didn’t make anything for the rest of the year. But I still thought the library was a good idea, and so did everyone I talked to. At the start of this year I met Rob Carter and Brett Ryan, who were both very supportive and wanted to help build stuff for the library. Which brings us up to date. End of prehistory period.

comment?

